DNN allows you to specify which parts of a registered user's profile can be edited by the user. You can specify, for example, that the user can modify their picture, but not their first or last name.
You can find more information about editing user profiles in the article Editing user profile fields.
- Go to Persona Bar > Settings > Site Settings > Site Behavior > User Profiles
- Find the field you wish to modify in the list and click the Pencil icon on the right.
- The Read Only setting determines whether a user can edit their own information. "On" indicates they cannot edit this field.
- Hit Next to save your changes.
- Log in as a registered user without administrative privileges.
- Click on the Profile drop-down in the upper right, then click Edit Profile
- The fields specified as Read Only should not be editable from the next screen. In this screenshot, the First Name and Last Name fields have been locked.