To ensure data security of the User Profile feature; site administrators may want to restrict users' ability to view other users' profiles.
- Access to Superuser/Host access
There is currently no option within DNN that's purposely built for this objective (restricting users from accessing other users' profiles). There is a workaround to somehow limit the user's ability to view other users' profiles. The option to do this is below:
- Login as Superuser/Host to your site
- Go to Persona Bar > Content > Pages > Activity Feed > Settings > Permissions tab
- Under the All Users role, you can uncheck the permission under View Tab (Note: by default, only the "View Tab" is checked)
The steps above will prevent users from accessing other users' profiles when they click on the display name. They would see a message on the page that says "You do not have access to view this page within the site."
Note: Make sure that this change will work for your users as this will affect user experience and you can allow specific user access by adding users to a specific role that has view access.
You can test that these changes have been applied by:
- Search for a user in the Search Bar
- Try to access the user profile by clicking on their display name
You should get the message "You do not have access to view this page within the site."