Permissions in DNN come in two types
- Page permissions, which cover adding, deleting, and managing of individual pages.
- Global permissions, which cover access to DNN installation-wide settings and changes.
This article will cover page permissions only. For global permissions, see Persona Bar by Role. Page permissions can be granted to both users (e.g. jane_doe), or to entire roles (e.g. Content Manager).
- Access to Content Manager, Administrator or SuperUser account.
Setting Page Permissions
In the below example, members of the Marketing role can add content to this page and copy pages and add them as children below this page. In addition, the user Elizabeth Dunn can add additional pages below this page and manage settings for this page and any child pages they add.
Navigate to the page that is not editable by a particular role.
Click the Permissions tab.
Ensure that a checkmark (✓) is in the proper place for granting access or permission to the specific role and not a cross (X) or a black-filled circle with a solid white line through the middle ().
If you edited anything in the Permissions tab, click Update Page to apply the changes.
Page Permissions Settings
- View: View permissions enables users to view the page.
- Add: Users with Add permissions for a page can add child pages to that page. They cannot add any parent pages, and they cannot add child pages to any other pages.
- Add Content: Users with Add Content permissions for a page can edit content in the page. These users can add, move and delete modules, as well as manage the content and settings for modules on the page.
- Copy: Users with Copy permissions can make a copy any page they can view. The new page can only be a child of the page they have Copy permissions for.
- Delete: Users with Delete permissions can delete the page. If the page has child pages they are also deleted when the parent is deleted. However, the user does not automatically have Delete permissions for these child pages.
- Export: Users with Export permissions can export the page.
- Import: Users with Import permissions can import a page.
- Manage Settings: Users with Manage Settings permissions can change the page settings. Users can edit all of the settings on the Settings page, except for the permissions section which will not be visible.
- Navigate: Users with Navigate permissions can view a page in the navigation menu. Users can have this permission without view permissions, in which case they will not be able to view any content on the page, but the page will be visible in the menu.
- Full Control: Users with Full Control permissions have full administrative rights for the page.
Default Roles in DNN Evoq
- Administrators: Members of this role have full access to manage everything on their specific site. This includes access to add, delete and edit all pages and modules on the site. Members of this role also have access to the Admin Console, which enables users to access all of the Site Administration modules which other users can be authorized to access as well as the additional Pages, Solutions Explorer, What's New, Pages and Site Settings pages. This role cannot be deleted or modified.
- Registered Users: Everyone who is a registered user of this site is a member of this role. Members of this role can manage their User Profile and may be granted rights to view pages and modules which are only displayed to logged-in users. Registered user accounts can be set as either Authorized or Unauthorized. If an account is Unauthorized, then the user cannot access pages/modules that are restricted to this role. This role cannot be deleted or modified.
- Content Editors: Have full permissions to change the content of a page, including adding/removing/editing content and changing page permissions and settings. If workflows are enabled, their changes may need to be approved by a Content Manager
- Content Managers: Have all the permissions of a Content Editor, plus additional permissions to create and manage workflows and approve changes made by Content Editors. Content Managers can also add site connections to third party integrations like Google Analytics and Amazon S3.
- Translators: A role for translators is automatically added for the default site language; example, Translators (en-US), if the site's default language is set to English (US). When content localization is enabled, another Translators role is added for each installed language. Registered users must be manually assigned to this role. Translators have no default access to the Persona Bar or to content editing, but can be granted page permissions on a per-page basis.
- Subscribers: All Registered Users are added to this role by default. Authenticated users can unsubscribe or re-subscribe to this role under Membership Services on the View Profile (also called the My Profile) module. Administrators can delete and modify this role.
Page permissions can be set per role or user on each of the page permissions.
- Permission Granted: permission will be granted.
- Permission Denied: permission will be denied unless Full Control is selected. Denied permissions will generally override Granted permissions for the same page/permission.
- Not Specified: permissions will not be specified. Users cannot view the page unless they belong to another role/username that has been granted permission, or are granted Full Control
You can test that the page permissions have been set up properly by logging into a user account that is currently assigned to the role and access the configured page to see if the permissions have been applied.