Enabling Content Localization

Overview


Content Localization
 in DNN allows site admins to make copies of their sites for various languages and provide access to translators to the required content.

Once the Content Localization is enabled, it creates a translator role (e.g., Translator (EN-AU)) for each enabled language. It also enables the Localization tab for all site pages. Only users that have permissions to Edit Content can translate pages.

Note: Localized content must be enabled by a SuperUser. Localized content cannot be disabled once it has been enabled.


Process

  1. Navigate to Settings > Site Settings and Select the Languages tab.
  2. Enable the Allow Content Localization option.
  3. Click Save.

    content_localization.png

    The Enable Localized Content message box appears showing the Current Site Default language and informing that this language cannot be changed once localized content is enabled.

    Enable_Localized_Content.png

    Note: To change the default site language, click Cancel and then change the default language.
  4. Enable the Make All Pages Translatable option if needed. It makes all pages that are in the default language translatable and creates copies of them for each of the enabled languages.
  5. Click on the Enable Localized Content button.
    A new section under the Languages tab is available now. It displays the enabled languages and the following information for each language:
    • Number: Displays the total number of pages and the percentage of pages that have been localized.
    • Translated: Displays the total number of pages and the percentage of pages that have been translated.
    • Active: Displays whether localized content is activated/not activated.

      LocalizationEnabled.png


Confirmation


To view the newly created localized copy of the site in a certain language, click on the corresponding country flag, which is usually located at the top of the page.

Note: Page names are appended with the country code (e.g., for Australia, it is (EN-AU). Modify these names by editing the Page Name fields.


languageflag.png


A translator role is now displayed (at Settings > Roles) for each language that is enabled. You need to add users to the newly created translator roles so that they could begin the translation.


Back to top

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.