Avoiding Downtime due to Licensing Limit during Migration

Overview

During migration from one server to another, an administrator will need to apply the same license which is already in use on the old server to the new production server. A license cannot be applied to both servers at the same time. To avoid downtime while new server is not yet licensed you will need to use a development-type license for a brief amount of time before the license won't be deleted from the old server and activated on the new one.

Note: Using development type license on production instance is only allowed for a very short period of time and only in exceptional circumstances.

Step-By-Step Guide

  1. Click Settings in the Persona Bar (on the new server).
  2. Click About.

  3. Click Add License.

  4. Select Development from the License Type drop-down list.
  5. Enter Account Email in the corresponding text field.
  6. Enter Invoice Number associated with your license in the corresponding text field.
  7. Click Automatic Activation.

  8. Perform DNS and other necessary changes to point to the new PROD server whenever you are ready for cut-over.
  9. Click Remove button against the license in question (production type) on the old server and confirm removal.
  10. Click Add License (on the new server).
  11. Select Production from the License Type drop-down list.
  12. Enter Account Email in the corresponding text field.
  13. Enter Invoice Number associated with your license in the corresponding text field.
  14. Click Automatic Activation.
  15. Click Remove button against the development license and confirm removal.

Confirmation: EXPIRES column should be updated with the correct expiration date for your valid production license, production server is operational.

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.